Punjab Congress MPs to move Bill for repeal


Congress MPs from Punjab will move Private Member’s Bill in the Lok Sabha to pressure the government for repeal of farm laws and urge other MPs to join them.

Eight MPs — Preneet Kaur, Manish Tewari, Ravneet Bittu, JS Gill, Gurjeet Aujla, Amar Singh, Mohd Sadique and Santokh Choudhary — collectively and individually submitted the Bills to the Lok Sabha secretariat today. They said they would request Speaker Om Birla to prioritise the legislations in the interest of farmers.

The Congress effort took off on a note of disunity within its Punjab ranks with Rajya Sabha MPs Ambika Soni, Partap Singh Bajwa and Shamsher Singh Dullo missing from the picture. Bajwa said: “We had no information about the move. We were not even consulted. This is disappointing.” Dullo also said he had no idea about the move.

Tewari earlier mentioned that the Bills sought repeal of laws on grounds of “illegality and unconstitutionality”.On why no plea in the SC, Tewari said, “The SC is seized of the matter. We did what we thought was best.” Bittu appealed to 247 MPs, who have mentioned farming as their profession in records, to join them.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here