Live Updates: Congress takes major lead in Punjab civic body polls; dismal show by BJP


The fate of 2,252 candidates are being decided as the counting of ballots for the 116 Punjab urban local bodies, including seven high-stake municipal corporations, began amid tight security on Wednesday.

The main contest in the urban local bodies is among the Congress, the opposition Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD).



Congress: 43

SAD: 7

Muktsar: Total wards: 31

Congress: 17

SAD: 10

AAP: 2

BJP:  1

Independent: 1

Sangrur: (Longowal) total seats: 15

Congress: 9

Independent : 6

Sangrur: (Amargarh) total seats: 11

Congress: 5

SAD: 5

AAP: 1

Sangrur: (Bhawanigarh) total seats: 15

Congress: 13

SAD: 1

Independent: 1

Sangrur: Sunam

Congress: 19

Independent: 4

Gurdaspur: Congress wins all 29 wards

Jalandhar:  Phillaur (15 Municipal Council seats)

Congress: 11

BSP: 1  

Independent: 3

No seat to BJP, SAD

Ropar (15 Morinda municipal council seats)

Independent: 8

Congress: 7

Ferozpur (Talwandi Bhai)

Ward No. 1:  Anu Bajaj, Congress   

Ward No. 2:  Tarsem Singh, Congress   

Ward No 3: Rupinder Kaur, Congress

Ward No. 4: Pritpal Singh, SAD       

Ward No. 5: Kulwinder, Congress  

Ward No. 6: Rupinder Singh, SAD  

Ward No. 7: Amarjit Kaur, Congress    

Ward No. 8: Narpreet Singh, AAP  

Ward No. 9: Kulwinder Kaur, Congress      

Ward No. 10: Jagdeep Singh, Congress  

Ward No. 11: Rakesh Kumar, Congress

Ward No. 12: Arti Dhingra, Congress     

Ward No. 13: Bhjan Singh, Congress

Ferozepur (Mamdot)

Ward no 1: Mandeep Kaur, Congress      

Ward no 3: Sukhwinder Kaur, Congress  

Ward no 4: Daljit Singh Bawa, Independent  

Ward no 5: Anuradha Rani, Congress      

Ward no 6: Surinder Kumar, SAD       

Ward no 7: Alice, Congress    

Ward no 8: Upinder Singh, Independent

Ward no 12: Balwinder Singh, SAD    

Ward no 13: Baj Singh, Congress


Ward no 1: Darshana, Congress   

Ward no 2: Navjot Kaur, Congress     

Ward no 3: Manjeet Kaur, Congress  

Ward no 6:  Kapil Kumar, Congress

Ward no 7: Rachna Kumari, Congress      

Ward no 8: Parvinder Kumar, Congress   

Ward no 10: Rajesh Chanana, Congress  

Ward no 11: Jagroop Kaur, Congress

Ferozepur (Mudki)

Ward No. 1: Lakhwinder Kaur, Congress

Ward No. 2: Avtar Singh, Congress    

Ward No. 3: Happy Kaur, SAD      

Ward No. 5: Praveen Kaur, SAD   

Ward No. 6: Sewak Singh, SAD    

Ward No. 7: Sarbjit Kaur, Congress    

Ward No. 8: Davinder Kumar, SAD    

Ward No. 9: Gurjit Kaur, SAD

Kartarpur MC

Ward no 1:  Balwinder Kaur, (Ind)

Ward no 2: Onkar Singh (Cong)

Ward no 3: Tejpal Singh (Ind)

Ward no 4: Jyoti Arora (Ind)

Ward no 5: Komal Agarwal (Ind)

Ward no 6: Prince Arora (Cong)

Ward no 7: Amarjit Kaur (Ind)

Ward no 8: Bal Mukund (Ind)

Ward no 9: Sunita Rani (Cong)

Ward no 10: Dimple Kapoor (Ind)

Ward no 11: Rajwinder Kaur (Uncontested Congress candidate)

Ward no 12: Sham Sunder Pal (Cong)

Ward no 13: Surinder Pal (Ind)

Ward no 14: Ashok Kumar (Cong)

Ward no 15: Manjinder Kaur (Ind)

Moga:  Total wards: 50

Congress: 20

SAD: 15

Independent: 10

AAP: 4

BJP: 1

Congress loses Moga MC elections

Jalandhar (Alawalpur)

Ward no 1. Rachna, Independent

Ward no 2: Krishna Devi, Independent

Ward no 3: Raj Rani, Independent

Ward no 4: Jasvir Kaur, SAD

Ward no 5: Neelam rani, Independent

Ward no 6: Mukadar Lal, Independent

Ward no 7: Kavita Rani, Independent

Ward no 8: Pankaj Sharma, Independent

Ward no 9: Naresh Kumar, Independent

Ward no 10: Madan Lal, Independent

Ward no 11: Brij Bhushan, Independent

Malout: Total wards 27

Congress: 14

SAD: 9

Independent: 4

Jalandhar : NP Lohian

Ward no 1: Swaran Kaur (Congress)

Ward no 2: Baldev Singh (Congress)

Ward no 3: Parminder Kaur, (Congress)

Ward no 4: Sukhwinder Nagi (Independent)

Ward no 5: Parveen Kumari (Independent)

Ward no 6: Jagjit Singh (Congress)

Ward no 7: Rani, (Congress)

Ward no 8: Gurjit Singh, (Congress)

Ward no 9: Balwinder Singh, (Congress)

Ward no 10: Gurbir Singh (Congress)

Ward no 11: Manjit Singh (Independent)

Ward no 12: Pardeep Kumar (Congress)

Ward no 13: Seema (Congress)

Jalandhar (Nurmahal)

Ward no 1. Babli, Independent

Ward no 2. Anil Kumar, Independent

Ward no 3. Deepak Kumar, Independent

Ward no 4. Jung Bahadur, Independent

Ward no 5. Mamta jaspal, BJP

Ward no 6. Balbir Chand Kauldhar, Independent

Ward no 7. Hardeep Kaur, Independent

Ward no 8. Nand Kishor, Independent

Ward no 9. Suman Kumari, Independent

Ward no 10. Rajiv Misra, Independent

Ward no 11. Suman Sekhri, Independent

Ward no 12. Krushna Devi Sandhu, Independent

Ward no 13: Walaiti Ram, Independent

Gidderbaha: Total wards 19

Cong: 18

Independent: 1

SAD boycotted election

Amritsar (Ajnala total wards: 15)



Amritsar (Rayya total wards: 13)

Cong: 12

SAD: 1

Amritsar (Jandiala total wards 15)

Cong: 10

SAD: 3

Independent: 2

Patiala: Result of all 31 seats of Rajpura MC declared

Congress: 27

BJP: 2


AAP: 1

Congress wins Amritsar Muncipal Corporation ward number 37 bypoll


Congress: 8

SAD: 3


Congress wins ward No 1 to 13

Majitha: Total wards: 13

SAD: 10

Congress : 2

Independent -1

Nangal: Total wards 19

Congress : 15

BJP: 2

Independent: 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here